Week 8: Vengeance to the Victor

As the initial round robin of Fantasy LCS came to a close, everyone my eight person league is doing rematches against old foes. After barely eeking out a victory last week, I am matched against my friend Sam, who beat me back in Week 2. He also wanted revenge for me calling out his team (he has the second worst record in the league, lol), so it appears vengeance will go the victor. Here’s a reminder of last week’s roster:

1. Kev1n – Millenium
2. Svenskeren – SK Gaming
3. Cowtard – Copenhagen Wolves
4. Rekkles – Fnatic
5. Gleebglarbu – TSM
6. Wildturtle – TSM
7. Millenium
8. Mimer – Supa Hot Crew
9. Impaler – Supa Hot Crew
10. Nrated – SK Gaming

I traded a couple of players from the add/drop pool, with the main reason for each trade being to punish those who did poorly during super week:

Added Niq, Dropped Cowtard: After Cowtard’s dismal performance, I immediately wanted a replacement. My go to, Overpow, had been picked up with the resurgence of ROCCAT (in hindsight, I probably should have picked him up and dropped Nrated). I chose to grab NiQ, as Gambit’s recent results showed slight improvement over their past performances.

Added Fnatic, Dropped Millenium: Perhaps I should have known better on this one, but Millenium just did not perform to the level of Fnatic. After their fantastic super week, I picked them up once again hoping they could replicate their success.

I also tweaked my starting roster as well. Here is what the roster looked like:

1. Mimer – Supa Hot Crew
2. Impaler – Supa Hot Crew
3. NiQ – Gambit Gaming
4. Rekkles – Fnatic
5. Gleebglarbu – TSM
6. Wildturtle – TSM
7. Fnatic
8. Kev1n – Millenium
9. Svenskeren – SK Gaming
10. Nrated – SK Gaming

Started Mimer, Benched Kev1n: This was a tough decision, as Kev1n’s Millenium played against Copenhagen Wolves, the team of huge point margins. However, Kev1n also played against Alliance, and I did not like their chances of earning points from that game. I chose Mimer because, while they had a similar schedule, I thought they had a greater chance of being their tough opponent, Fnatic, or at least tying them.

Started Impaler, Benched Svenskeren: A simple decision. Both teams faced Fnatic, but while SK Gaming faced the resurgent ROCCAT, Supa Hot Crew faced the floundering Gambit (yes, I know I added NiQ, whatever, I’m on a hotstreak).

Started Gleebglarbu, Benched Nrated: TSM has come back furiously in the standings, so I have faith in them and their bot lane to do well. TSM had the slightly harder week, so most of this is my confidence in their past performance (although Nrated dominated Gleeb during Super Week).

After these changes were made, I was ready to go into the matches! Here is how I did!

Mimer: 1
Mimer did ok with 27 points. But Kev1n scored 59. I literally cost myself 30 points. Most matches are determined in 30 point margins, as was this week’s match. I get a 1 to show my epic disgrace. Sorry kev-bro.

Impaler: 4
As it turns out, I was correct in thinking SHC would have a better week. Mainly because SK Gaming go rocked this week. Scoring nearly 3 times as many points as Svenskeren, he earns his place as my default jungler. He doesn’t get a 5, however, because while he was the much better choice, he only earned 17 points.

NiQ: 1
NiQ showed a bit of consistency, scoring 17 points (more than Cowtard’s performance from last week). But the Wolves picked up two games with huge point totals, putting Cowtard at 46 points. Again, this is a match-defining screw-up, one that should not happen. Of course, this should have been expected when Gambit announced new players to its starting roster. Unfortunately, I did not catch that (I should pay attention to my own blogs).

Rekkles: 5
Just shy of 50 points, he continues to show why he is the top player in the league in terms of point totals. Bonus points are awarded because Fnatic is beginning to dominate. Yay for my good fortune in the draft phase!

Gleebglarbu: 4
Gleeb had an okay week, dishing out 22 points. The main reason why he gets such a great score is because Nrated, my back-up, scored 3 points. Just 3 points. For you math junkies, you could right this out as 1/7Gleeb > Nrated. I made the correct choice; nuf said.

Wildturtle: 5
QUADRA! HE GOT A QUADRA! But seriously, that is super well done and shows the raw mechanics that spurred me to pick him in the first place. He is shining in the sun with another 40+ points this week, which is now half of the weeks this split. Woot woot!

Fnatic: 5
When a team scores 30 points, it’s a good week to have them on your team. When they score 40, however, you should go buy lotto tickets. With the top points of any team and just as many points as my ADC’s, it was a great choice to pick them back up.

Kev1n: 1
WHY KEV1N? WHY DO I DOUBT YOU? I AM SORRY. COME BACK TO ME BABY. I’LL CHANGE. I PROMISE.

Svenskeren: 2
While I didn’t play him, and that is great, I am seriously considering throwing him into the Add/Drop pool. It may do me quite a service to see that happen. But that name though………..

Nrated: 1
WHY! WHY DID I DROP OVERPOW FOR YOU?!?!? I REGRET IT, I WISH YOU WERE NEVER PICKED UP BY SK GAMING. But seriously, dude, what is going on? You are literally being sent to the pool next time I get the chance.

After foolishly benching Kev1n, I thought my week was done for. But with WildTurtle’s Quadra at the end of Day 2, I scraped by with a 5 point victory (Quadra kills, as you know, are worth a bonus 5 points. Coincidence? I think not.). With this, I am now one of two people tied for first, and after beating the other guy tied for first, the Fantasy LCS system shows me at the top of the rankings! Woot woot!

Leave a comment